Funding Agencies

Starting with the preparation of the pilot calls in 2012 funding agencies joined forces to develop a framework for cooperation and joint calls. This resulted in the establishment of the Funding Agencies Working Group (FAWG), a platform for funding agencies that meet regularly to discuss the implementation of ongoing calls, the development of future calls and the improvement of framework conditions to meet the requirements of the SRIA and JPI Urban Europe.

This platform now provides the basis for setting up and implementing the JPI Urban Europe calls and developing additional alignment activities. The FAWG is involved in project monitoring, reflection and improvement of instruments and framework conditions.

More than 25 funding agencies are currently active in the FAWG, exchanging on urban research and innovation programmes, implementing joint calls and designing a transnational framework for urban research and innovation. Even without a formal membership funding agencies are highly welcome to join the working group.

The funding agencies

There are 28 funding agencies involved in the FAWG.

Country Organisation
Belgium Innoviris
DGO6
FWO
IWT
FNRS
Cyprus RPF
Denmark Innovationfund DK
Finland TEKES
Academy of Finland
France ANR
Germany PTJ
DLR
Italy MIUR
Lithuania LMT
Latvia VIAA
The Netherlands NWO
Norway The Research Council of Norway
Poland NCN
Portugal FCT
Romania UEFISCDI
Sweden Vinnova
Formas
Swedish Energy Agency
Slovenia ARRS
Turkey TÜBITAK
United Kingdom ESRC
AHRC
Innovate UK

 

FAWG

 

Austria

BMVIT
Hans-Günther Schwarz
Email: Hans-Guenther.schwarz@bmvit.gv.at

 

Belgium

Innoviris
Beata Bibrowska 

Email: bbibrowska@innoviris.brussels

 

 

FWO
Toon Monbaliu

 

 

 

FRS-FNRS
Joel Groeneveld
Email: joel.groeneveld@frs-fnrs.be

 

 

Cyprus

RPF
Katerina Karakasidou

Email: kkarakasidou@research.org.cy

 

Denmark

Innovationfund DK
Bettina Hauge
Email: bettina.hauge@innofond.dk

 

 

Finland

Business Finland (Tekes)
Ilmari Absetz
Email: ilmari.absetz@tekes.fi

 

Academy of Finland
Vilkko Risto 
Email: risto.vilkko@aka.fi

 

 

France

ANR – Agence Nationale de la Recherche
Pascal Bain
Email: pascal.bain@agencerecherche.fr

 

Germany

Jülich
Evelyn Echeverria
Email: e.echeverria@fz-juelich.de

 

Italy

MIUR
Chiara Gliozzi
Email: chiara.gliozzi@miur.it

 

Lithuania

LMT
Asta Aleksandraviciene
Email: asta.aleksandraviciene@lmt.lt

 

Latvia

VIAA
Uldis Berkis
Email: uldis.berkis@viaa.gov.lv

 

The Netherlands

NWO
Melanie Neijts
Email: m.neijts@nwo.nl

 

Norway

The Research Council of Norway
Jonas Enge
Email: jen@forskningsradet.no

 

Poland

Joanna Komperda
NCN – National Science Centre
Email: joanna.komperda@ncn.gov.pl

 

Kinga Sekerdej
NCN – National Science Centre
Email: kinga.sekerdej@ncn.gov.pl

 

 

Portugal

FCT
Nuno Moreira
Email: nuno.moreira@fct.pt

 

Romania

UEFISCDI
Elena Simion
Email: elena.simion@uefiscdi.ro

 

Sweden

Vinnova
Maria Johansson
Email: maria.johansson@vinnova.se

 

Formas
Ann Rodenstedt
Email: ann.rodenstedt@formas.se

 

 

Swedish Energy Agency
Emina Pasic
Email: emina.pasic@energimyndigheten.se

 

 

Slovenia

ARRS
Tina Vuga
Email: tina.vuga@arrs.si

 

Turkey

TÜBITAK
Alperen Karatas
Email: alperen.karatas@tubitak.gov.tr

 

United Kingdom

Economic and Social Research Council, UK Research and Innovation
Vicki Crossley

Email: vicki.crossley@esrc.ukri.org

 

Innovate UK
James Taplin
E-mail: james.taplin@innovateuk.gov.uk

 

Join JPI UE

Faq

FAQ

Please click here for the frequently asked questions we collected.
If you have an additional questions you are welcome to mail us at info@jpi-urbaneurope.eu

European Union

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 857160.