Funding Agencies

Starting with the preparation of the pilot calls in 2012 funding agencies joined forces to develop a framework for cooperation and joint calls. This resulted in the establishment of the Funding Agencies Working Group (FAWG), a platform for funding agencies that meet regularly to discuss the implementation of ongoing calls, the development of future calls and the improvement of framework conditions to meet the requirements of the SRIA and JPI Urban Europe.

This platform now provides the basis for setting up and implementing the JPI Urban Europe calls and developing additional alignment activities. The FAWG is involved in project monitoring, reflection and improvement of instruments and framework conditions.

More than 35 funding agencies are currently active in the FAWG, exchanging on urban research and innovation programmes, implementing joint calls and designing a transnational framework for urban research and innovation. Even without a formal membership funding agencies are highly welcome to join the working group.

The funding agencies

There are 37 funding agencies involved in the FAWG.

Country Organisation Contacts
Austria Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) Johannes Bockstefl
Johannes.Bockstefl@ffg.at
  Austrian Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility and Technology (BMK) Hans-Günther Schwarz
hans-guenther.schwarz@bmk.gv.at
Belgium Innoviris Beata Bibrowska
bbibrowska@innoviris.irisnet.be
  Research Foundation – Flanders (FWO) Toon Monbaliu
toon.monbaliu@fwo.be
  Flanders Innovation & Entrepreneurship (VLAIO) Veerle Desmet
veerle.desmet@vlaio.be
  Fund for Scientific Research (FNRS) Joel Groeneveld
joel.groeneveld@frs-fnrs.be
  Research Wallonia Ministry for Public Service (SPW) Julie Jasmes
julie.jasmes@spw.wallonie.beThierry Lemoine
thierry.lemoine@spw.wallonie.be
Bulgarien Bulgarian national Science Fund (BNSF) Georgi Vayssilov
vayssilov@mon.bg
Cyprus Research and Innovation Foundation (RIF) Dimosthenis Perikleous
dperikleous@research.org.cy
Denmark Innovation Fund Denmark (IFD) Martin Kyvsgaard
martin.kyvsgaard@innofond.dk
Estonia Estonian Research Council (ETAG) Ülle Napa
ulle.napa@etag.ee
Finland Finnish Funding Agency for Technology and Innovation (TEKES) Illmari Absetz
ilmari.absetz@tekes.fi
  Academy of Finland (AKA) Risto Vilkko
risto.vilkko@aka.fi
France French national Research Agency (ANR) Pascal Bain
pascal.bain@agencerecherche.fr
Germany Project Management Jülich (PTJ) Evelyn Echeverria
e.echeverria@fz-juelich.de
  German Aerospace Centre – Project Management Agency (DLR) Michaela Thorn
Michaela.Thorn@dlr.de
Italy Italian Ministry for Education, Universities and Research (MIUR) Aldo Covello
aldo.covello@miur.it
Lithuania Research Council of Lithuania (LMT) Asta Aleksandraviciene
asta.aleksandraviciene@lmt.lt
Latvia State Education Development Agency Republic of Latvia (VIAA) Uldis Berkis
uldis.berkis@izm.gov.lv
Moldova Moldovan Agency for Innovation and Technology Transfer (AITT) Larisa Cojusneanu
larisa_cojusneanu@yahoo.com
The Netherlands The Dutch Research Council (NWO) Melanie Neijts
m.neijts@nwo.nl
Norway The Research Council of Norway (RCN) Mari SolerØd
mso@rcn.no
Poland National Science Centre (NSC) Alicja Dyląg
alicja.dylag@ncn.gov.pl
Portugal Portuguese national funding Agency for Science, Research and Technology (FCT) Luis Mota
Luis.Mota@fct.pt
  Regional Fund for Science and Technology oft he Azores Regional Government (FRCT) Natalia Silva
Natalia.SA.Silva@azores.gov.pt
Romania Executive Agency for Higher Education, Research, Development and Innovation Funding (UEFISCDI) Elena Simion
elena.simion@uefiscdi.ro
  The National Authority for Scientific Research (ANCS) Viorel Vulturescu
viorel.vulturescu@ancs.ro
Slovenia Slovenian Research Agency (ARRS) Ursa Novak
ursa.novak@arrs.si
Spain State Research Agency (AEI) Juan Climent
juan.climent@aei.gob.es
  Ministry of Economy and Competitiveness (MINECO) Joaquin Serrano
joaquin.serrano@mineco.es
Sweden Vinnova Maria Johansson
maria.johansson@vinnova.se
  Formas – The Swedish Research Counsil Johan Hägglöf
johan.hogglof@formas.se
  Energimyndigheten –

Swedish Energy Agency (SWEA)

Emina Pasic
Emina.Pasic@energimyndigheten.se
Turkey The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey (TÜBITAK) Serhat Melik
serhat.melik@tubitak.gov.trCagri Yildirim
cagri.yildirim@tubitak.gov.tr
United Kingdom Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) Eva Spain
eva.spain@esrc.ukri.org
  Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) Eira Hughes
eira.hughes@ahrc.ukri.org
  Innovate UK James Taplin
james.taplin@innovateuk.gov.uk

Join JPI UE

Faq

FAQ

Please click here for the frequently asked questions we collected.
If you have an additional questions you are welcome to mail us at info@jpi-urbaneurope.eu

European Union

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 857160.